Breathe In. Breathe Out. Repeat as Necessary.

As impatient as I am to get on the road, we’re so incredibly busy that the days are just flying by. While visiting Mike’s mom at the home the other day, one of the other residents asked me what day it was. I actually had to stop and think before I answered, I had lost track. Yes, we’re tired, but we can see the finish line and we’re both getting so excited. Progress is being made steadily, and things are finally taking shape.

Scratching Itchy Feet

We’ve been to Toronto since our last post. Hank needed a cap for the box, and we found a really good deal with a vendor out of Guelph. Almost half the price of what the local sellers wanted. Yes, it was a very long way to go, but because there are so many different styles of this particular truck, and no two of the truck boxes are the same, it had to be a very specific cap for it to fit properly. They’re difficult to find new, and bloody impossible to locate a used one.

Hank
Hank showing off his new cap.

So, everything accounted for, we ended up spending a bit less than the same amount of money as if we would have bought local, but we got a wicked road trip out of it, and I got to spend some time with some of my favorite cousins that I don’t get to see very often. It also meant we got to test Hank on a long trip (3100km round trip), and he didn’t disappoint. Although his mileage indicator stated he didn’t care much for downtown stop-and-go traffic, on the highway he was getting 26+ mpg. Add that to the fact that we slept fairly comfortably in his cab 2 nights, and there’s not too much to complain about.

Have You Seen The ________ ?

The trailer renos are finally complete (we think.) We’ve added shelves and more storage space, and I was surprised to find I had more room for groceries and cookware than I first thought.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The bed platform is complete, and converts to a comfy, very roomy couch.

We still need to figure out how we’re going to secure different things while we’re moving, but that’s just little stuff like Velcro straps and bungee cords.

The rough part right now is that it’s like we’re living out of two houses because we’ve taken most things out to the trailer to make sure they’re going to fit. And maybe it’s impatience or just wishful thinking, but the items don’t seem to be coming back inside once they’re out there. It’s become a running gag, every time we go to make a meal, we invariably discover that some item, ingredient or utensil that we need is in the trailer. Just this morning, Mike ran out to get a box of tea so I could have a cup, lol.

Testing, Testing…

We’re going to take Lonestar out dry camping for a few days, just to make sure everything is working and there’s nothing else we’ve missed. That way we’re not far from home if we need to fix/alter something. It will also give us the opportunity to have it weighed with the bike in the back, just to make sure we’re not over the GTWR.

Confederation Bridge
A view of the Confederation Bridge from the P.E.I. coast. © 2003 – 2017 Attractions Canada, All Rights Reserved.

We’re not going far, just to the southern part of the province, and a fast trip to P.E.I. on Buddy. The toll to cross the Confederation Bridge is ridiculous. It’s $46.50 for the truck, plus $16.00 ($8.00 per axle) extra for the trailer. Or 18.50 if we just take the bike. You do the math. At least on the bike, I can see over the bridge’s high sides to look at the water. Honestly, I miss the days when you had to take the ferry over. Those are some of my favorite memories as a child.

Me at Cow's Ice Cream
Me at Cow’s Ice Cream, Gateway Village, P.E.I., 2014

Oh well, if we have to pay the bridge toll, at least we get to go to Cows Ice Cream, lol. Except for a small kiosk on the Halifax waterfront, Cows Ice Cream is only sold on Prince Edward Island. Best damn ice cream on the planet! (Sorry Ben and Jerry.) Not to mention the coolest T-Shirts. Check ‘em out here.

Going Once, Going Twice … Sold!

Meanwhile, the clear-out continues. Over the past few weeks, we’ve sold or re-homed an amazing number of things, including the Tucson, several of Mike’s power tools, some extra trailer parts and Willie, my guitar. That last one broke my heart, but we simply could not find room for it. I didn’t have a hard-side case, just a soft gig bag, so I couldn’t just jam it anywhere without risking damage, so better I find a good home for it. I learned to play on that guitar, and it took everything I had to let it go. I really have to work on that ‘emotional attachment’ thing I have. Who knows, once we’re out on the road, we may find that we can downsize a bit more and make some space and I’ll find a new one. We’ll see.

In the meantime, we’re planning a yard sale for this weekend to hopefully get rid of the small stuff that’s not worth listing on Kijiji or FB by itself. I had to laugh to myself. It’s been a few years since we’ve bothered with yard sales, and I remember how ‘early birds’, people who would show up hours before the sale was scheduled, would be a problem. Once we even had people knocking on our door before daylight wanting a sneak peek. I’ll spare you the graphic directions Mike gave them, lol.

But now, it’s all online, and it’s almost worse. I posted the yard sale on a few forums on FB and Kijiji, and now the digital ‘early birds’ are emailing and messaging, asking if we’ll have this or that, or wondering if they can come a few days early. I’m starting to answer the phone with “Good afternoon, customer service. How can I help you?”

Tick Tock, Tick Tock

So right now, it’s a waiting game. Mike is having some dental work taken care of before we go, so that’s going to take a couple of weeks. Also, we’re waiting on our renewed passports to arrive. In the meantime, we’re still sorting, selling, donating and deciding, finally getting to the bottom of the pile. Come the end of August, it’s all systems go.

5 thoughts on “Breathe In. Breathe Out. Repeat as Necessary.

Add yours

    1. Mike had mentioned that, but in all honesty, I’ve never liked the sound of a mandolin. I’d be ok with a smaller guitar, but the fact is that left-handed guitars (in any size) are difficult to come by, unless you’ve got 6 weeks to wait around for your ‘special’ order to come in. Some days it really sucks to be a south paw! I’m sure there’s another one out there for me somewhere, it will probably be a while before I find it. Thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Kelly, first time I see the new renos. Absolutely LOVE it!!! I’m so happy for you guys. Our little trailer has definitely gone to the right “folks”. We’ve downsized to a tent in back of the truck, plus on our last camping adventure we bought a mosquito tent/shelter. A definite plus. I can’t figure Ray out, I thought he was finished with camping. But I don’t mind, I’m always game for a new adventure. We did “invest” in a new bicycle for me. It’s an Evox electric bike. Now I can keep up with him. LOL So far we’ve only camped at the Gaspe Park and Sugarloaf. I would love to do the Eastern Townships in Quebec. The summer has been so beautiful, one cannot decide if we should have a day of bicycling, motorcycling, camping, hiking or kayaking. So we’re trying to pack in as much as possible. Right now Ray is volunteering for the Tree of Hope Bicycling Tour. He’s on his motorcycle with the flashers on to buffer the bicyclists ( 67 of them) from the passing vehicles. The bicyclists go from Edmunston to Moncton, with stops in Campbellton (tonight), Bathurst, Tracadie, Miramichi and Moncton on Sunday. 4 days. I’m going to try to send you pix of our “downsized” camping. Dang don’t know how to do that. Will try email. Happy Trails. We just got back from PEI last week. It was a motorcycle trip. Lots of great fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Got your pics, thanks, it looks like a fantastic time. Give Ray our best and wish him luck with the Tree of Hope Tour. Right now, if everything goes to plan, we’re aiming for the end of August to hit the road. If you happen to be in the neighborhood, drop by. We’d love to give you the grand tour in person. Talk soon, safe travels. ♥

      Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

